A brief recap of Santorum and equality.

Today’s Link

Greetings one and all.  I thought long and hard about what to post today for your delectation.  I know that this blog has a political bent to it (sexuality is always politics it seems) but I didn’t want to just rush in and post something about the exit from the primary race of Rick Santorum and have it be viewed as political gloating.

But then I remembered all of the anti-gay and anti-equality things he has said since the campaign started.  I wanted to take the opportunity to remind everyone of them.  Today’s link is a nice, neat, summary of the things that he has talked about.  I want to be clear though; the reason why I talk against him is because of his anti-gay and anti-equality attitudes (mainly).  I can’t get past those.  I can’t even bring myself to listen to someone’s policies of economics, world affairs, education, or health care if they make a point of starting out by saying that they want to invalidate my marriage, take away my right to leave money to my partner, take away the right for my partner and I to make life decisions for each other, or to insist that I pay more taxes than heterosexual married couples.

You can have all the greatest policies in the world.  But if one of your primary objectives is to either deny or take away my rights, then I won’t listen to you.  That is what my attitudes to Santorum are about.  My attitudes to Mitt Romney and Newt Gingrich are not different either.  Just so you know.  This is about equality FIRST for me.

Big love,

DMx

Leave a Reply

