Transgender rights and Miss Universe.

Today’s Link

So here is an interesting topic for today.  The current years Miss Universe competition is now underway with the regional competitions taking place.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not a massive fan of beauty competitions though I will admit to having a fondness for critiquing ball gowns.  My mother and I used to watch Miss World when I was about 5 which I am sure thrilled my father into thinking that he had a red-blooded, heterosexual son, until he realised that I was just interested in the swim suits, the hair, and the makeup.

But I digress.  The story today is whether or not someone who was born male but who has now transitioned to be a female should be allowed to compete.  Remember, we are not talking about a transvestite here, but someone who has mentally, and physically changed their sex.  So legally, and techincally they are now female.  Not that there is any issue with transvestitism either, but that is a different topic for discussion…..

The entrant for Miss Canada is the example here.  Having transitioned, and having been discovered to have transitioned (wouldn’t it be an awesome movie if it were another competitor who had ratted her out?), she was then disqualified.  Pressure has been bought to bear somewhere and you can see the results in the link.

Transgender issues are, for some, more difficult to deal with as there is a lot less understanding about what makes someone transgendered.  I certainly didn’t fully understand it all until I took a class on human sexuality and psychology at university.   If you don’t know much about it and are interested, then I would recommend doing some research to learn a little more.  In the mean time, lets hope that the world starts to stand up for all women’s rights, not just some women.

Big love,

DMx

Leave a Reply

