Bigotry, gay people, and St Patrick’s Day Parades

Today’s Link

So I hate to be a kill joy.  I like a good time more as much as everyone else.  St Patrick’s day here in America is always a party and I hope you are all having a good time if you are celebrating.

I would, however, like to draw your attention to the fact that gay people have been banned from marching in the New York City St Patrick’s day parade now for almost 20 years.  Today’s link will tell you why.  It’s also important to note that I was raised Catholic, and my ex-partner of 12 years was both Irish and Catholic.  I have nothing against Catholic’s per se, and my T-Shirt is supposed to be humourous as I did attend a Catholic school growing up.  My neighbours are RC and are very supportive of James and me and I have many great friends back in the UK who are Catholic too.  But this discrimination needs to stop.  Especially from a group who have been discriminated against by the British (amongst others) for many years.

Big love,

DMx

Leave a comment